FormaliSE 2016

The 4th edition of FormaliSE was held on Sunday 15 May in Austin (Texas, USA), co-located with ICSE 2016. 13 Participants heard inspiring keynotes by Pamela Zave (AT&T Research) and Don Batory (University of Texas at Austin), mixed with presentations of scientific papers, including discussions. A panel discussion, chaired by Stefania Gnesi, concluded the workshop. Nico Plat, Ben Di Vito, Don Batory, and Pamela Zave were the panel members.

Eight scientific papers were accepted (one withdrew from the final programme) from 18 submissions that were reviewed by an international programme committee (44% acceptance rate). Each paper was reviewed by 3 PC members.

Participants of FormaliSE 2016


The proceedings of the workshop were published as part of the ICSE 2016 Workshop Proceedings in the ACM and IEEE Digital Libraries.



You can downlaod pictures taken at workshop here (warning: 125 Mbyte zip file!).


08:50 to 09:00: Introduction

Nico Plat and Stefania Gnesi. "Welcome to FormaliSE 2016" (slides)

09:00 to 10:00: Keynote

Pamela Zave

Pamela Zave (AT&T Research). “How to Make Chord Correct” (slides)

10:00 to 10:30: Session 1

Ben Di Vito. “Deductive Evaluation: Formal Code Analysis with Low User Burden” (slides)

10:30 to 11:00: Break

11:00 to 12:45: Session 2

Néstor Cataño, Víctor Rivera and Sukriti Bhattacharya. “Undertaking the Tokeneer Challenge in Event-B” (slides)

Shigeki Hagihara, Atsushi Ueno, Takashi Tomita, Masaya Shimakawa and Naoki Yonezaki. “Simple Synthesis of Reactive Systems with Tolerance for Unexpected Environmental Behavior” (slides)

Francesco Mercaldo, Vittoria Nardone, Antonella Santone and Corrado Aaron Visaggio. “Download Malware? No, thanks. How Formal Methods can Block Update Attacks” (slides)

Shaoying Liu. “Validating Formal Specifications using Testing-Based Specification Animation” (slides)

12:45 to 14:00: Lunch

14:00 to 15:00: Keynote

Don Batory

Don Batory (University of Texas at Austin): "Teaching Modeling and Variability in Software Design and its Importance to Science" (slides)

15:00 to 15:30: Session 3

Andreas Katis, Michael Whalen and Andrew Gacek. “Towards Synthesis from Assume-Guarantee Contracts involving Infinite Theories: A Preliminary Report" (slides)

15:30 to 16:00: Break

16:00 to 16:30: Session 4

Mohammed Al-Mahfoudh, Ganesh Gopalakrishnan and Ryan Stutsman. “Toward Rigorous Design of Domain-Specific Distributed Systems” (slides)

16:30 to 17:30: Panel discussion


Programme Committee

  • Keijiro Araki (Kyushu University, Japan)
  • Andreas Bollin (Klagenfurt University, Austria)
  • Ana Cavalcanti (York University, UK)
  • Nancy Day (University of Waterloo, Canada)
  • Ewen Denney (SGT/NASA Ames, United States)
  • Cindy Eisner (IBM Haifa Research Laboratory, Israel) 
  • Alessandro Fantechi (University of Florence, Italy)
  • Antonio Filieri (Universität Stuttgart Germany)
  • Wolfgang Grieskamp (Google, USA)
  • Jan Friso Groote (Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands)
  • Michaela Huhn (TU Clausthal, Germany)
  • Nicolas D'Ippolito (Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina)
  • Peter Gorm Larsen (Aarhus University, Denmark)
  • Marc Lawford (MacMaster University, Canada)
  • Thierry Lecomte (ClearSy, France)
  • Yves Ledru (IMAG, France)
  • Axel Legay (INRIA Rennes, France)
  • Antónia Lopes (University of Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Tiziana Margaria (University of Limerick and Lero, Ireland)
  • Ravidra Metta (Tata Consultancy Services, India)
  • Henry Muccini (Universita degli Studi dell’Aquila, Italy)
  • Kenneth Pierce (University of Newcastle, UK)
  • Sanjai Rayadurgam (University of Minnesota, USA)
  • Matteo Rossi (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
  • Thomas Santen (Microsoft, UK)
  • Laura Semini (Pisa University, Italy)
  • Marjan Sirjani, (Reykjavik University, Iceland)
  • Marcel Verhoef (European Space Agency, The Netherlands)


Organizing Committee

Organizing Committee members and PC Chairs for FormaliSE 2016:


Stefania Gnesi and Nico Plat