

FM2009 is the sixteenth symposium in a series of the Formal Methods Europe association. The symposium will be organized as a world congress. Ten years after FM'99 in Toulouse, the first world congress, the formal methods communities from all over the world will again have the opportunity to meet. Therefore, FM2009 will be both an occasion to celebrate, and a platform for enthusiastic researchers and practitioners from a diversity of backgrounds and schools to exchange their ideas and share their experience.



INVITED SPEAKERS

Wan Fokkink, NL Carroll Morgan, Australia Colin O'Halloran, UK Sriram Rajamani, India Jeannette Wing, USA

PC CHAIRS

Ana Cavalcanti, UK Dennis Dams, USA

GENERAL CHAIR Jos Baeten, NL

VENUE Eindhoven, NL



Reflecting the global span of FM2009, the Programme Committee has been recruited from all over the world (see overleaf). For the technical symposium, papers on every aspect of the *development and application of formal methods for the improvement of the current practice on system developments* are invited for submission. Of particular interest are papers on *tools and industrial applications*: there will be a special track devoted to this topic.

The proceedings of FM2009 will be published in Springer's Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. Submitted papers should not have been submitted elsewhere for publication, should be in Springer's LNCS format (as described in: www.springer.com/lncs), and should not exceed 16 pages including appendices. Please note that an accepted paper will be published in the Proceedings only if at least one of its authors attends the symposium, in order to present their accepted work.

To mark the occasion, special initiatives have been proposed already. Springer will sponsor a Best Paper Award, which will include free electronic access to the Formal Aspects of Computing journal for one year, and a choice of Springer books. In addition, authors of selected papers will be invited to prepare a journal version for a special anniversary issue of Formal Aspects of Computing. And there is more to come.

It will be possible to take part in other ways: there will be opportunities to propose tutorials and workshops, to participate in the Doctoral Symposium, to give a demo at the tools exhibition, etc. Up to date information can be found at http://www.win.tue.nl/fm2009/. FM2009 will be great. So, put the dates in your diary:

Paper submission deadline 4 May, 2009 Notification of acceptance 6 July, 2009 Final version 10 August, 2009

FM2009 is part of the first Formal Methods Week (FMweek), which will bring together a choice of events in the area, including TESTCOM/FATES (Conference on Testing of Communicating Systems and Workshop on Formal Approaches to Testing of Software), FMICS (Formal Methods for Industrial Critical Systems), PDMC (Parallel and Distributed Methods of verifiCation), FACS (Formal Aspects of Component Software), CPA (Communicating Process Architectures), FAST (Formal Aspects in Security and Trust), FMCO (Formal Methods for Components and Objects), and the REFINE Workshop. For the latest information on FMweek, see http://www.win.tue.nl/fmweek.

FM2009 PROGRAMME COMMITTEE:

Ralph-Johan Back Finland Jos Baeten The Netherlands Sergey Baranov Russia **Gilles Barthe** Spain Rahma Ben-Ayed Tunisia Mohamed Bettaz Jordan **Dines Bjorner** Denmark Michael Butler UK Rodrigo Cardoso Colombia Ana Cavalcanti UK (Chair) Flavio Corradini Italy Jorge Cuellar Germany Dang Van Hung Vietnam Dennis Dams USA (Chair) Jim Davies UK Susanna Donatelli Italy Jin Song Dong Singapore Cindy Eisner Israel Lars-Henrik Eriksson Sweden Juhan-P. Ernits Estonia Jasmin Fisher UK John Fitzgerald UK Limor Fix USA Marc Frappier Canada * Marcelo Frias Argentina Masahiro Fujita Japan Marie-Claude Gaudel France Stefania Gnesi Italy Lindsay Groves New Zealand Anthony Hall UK Anne Haxthausen Denmark Ian Hayes Australia Matthew Hennessy Republic of Ireland Ralf Huuck Australia Predrag Janicic Serbia **Cliff Jones** UK Rajeev Joshi USA Shmuel Katz Israel ******* MoonZoo Kim Republic of Korea Nils Klarlund USA Jens Knoop Austria

Bob Kurshan USA Axel van Lamsweerde Belgium Peter Gorm Larsen Denmark **Yves Ledru** France Insup Lee USA Huimin Lin China - 🕹 Zhiming Liu Macao Nancy Lynch USA * Tom Maibaum Canada Dino Mandrioli Italv Sjouke Mauw Luxemburg ** Annabelle Mclver Australia **Dominique Mery** France Marius Minea Romenia Peter Müller Switzerland **Tobias Nipkow** Germany 🔅 👗 Manuel Nunez Spain * 🛞 Jose Nuno Oliveira Portugal **---** * **-**Gordon Pace Malta . Paritosh Pandya India Alberto Pardo Uruguay Frantisek Plasil Czech Republic Jaco van de Pol The Netherlands Ingrid Rewitzky South Africa Leila Ribeiro Brazil Augusto Sampaio Brazil Steve Schneider UK Christel Seguin France ₩___ Emil Sekerinski Canada Kaisa Sere Finland Natalia Sidorova The Netherlands · _ _ Marjan Sirjani Iceland Ketil Stolen Norway Andrzej Tarlecki Poland Daniel Varro Hungary Marcel Verhoef The Netherlands Jurgen Vinju The Netherlands Willem Visser USA Farn Wang Taiwan Jim Woodcock UK Husnu Yenigun Turkey